There is nothing like a good mystery.  I just love books that keep me on the edge of my seat. Throw in a some steamy romance and you got a book that will keep you up way past your bedtime. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting drew me in from the beginning but then again I am a sucker for the paranormal.  I did stay up past my bedtime too.  It was quite an enjoyable read but if you are an avid mystery reader like I am, you may figure out the plot twist with the killings before the end. Now with that being said, Derting with this debut shows promise and I think she will develop a legion of fans if she turns out more books like this.  

Violet can sense the dead and not the ones that died of natural deaths either. Hell of a talent don’t ya think? I think she could be quite useful to a police department. As she was growing up she found mostly animals and she always wanted to give them a proper burial.  She can sense like a sixth sense, imprints left on the animals by the killer. These imprints showed as sounds, tastes or smells and were so distracting that they would drive her crazy at times. Violet certainly didn’t see her talent as gift and it is not something that wants the world to know either.  Luckily her parents and her friend Jay do everything humanly possible to keep her safe.  

Speaking of Jay…..(here is where the “throw in some steamy romance” come into play) Violet is crushing on her best friend something awful. They have been best friends forever and these growing feelings on her part just complicate everything. Over the last year, Jay has grown into a hottie and girls just are drawn to him like bees are to honey. Luckily for Violet, Jay has eyes for his BFF only though the romantic tension builds between them for quite awhile before she finds out. Their love story albeit sweet was a little, okay more than a little, over the top.  I just knew those two were going to get together.  

Now comes the discovery of the dead girl and then another and then another. Remember I thought she would be very useful to a police department…turns out that….feign surprise, please….a serial killer is on the loose and is terrorizing teenage girls. It was just a matter of time before Violet went from detecting animals to dead people and what a coincidence it is that her Uncle Stephen is the chief of police in a neighboring town. Violet may be the only person that can stop this person, and is more than willing to put herself in danger to help catch this guy. Crazy or brave, you decide. I loved how (and this was best part for me) were the chapters that were told from the killer’s point of view. We got a glimpse into the psyche of a crazy guy as he hunts and abducts his victims.    

I read many reviews of this book before I picked it up.  For the most people loved it.  I can’t say I loved it. I can say however I liked it. The first half of the book was much better than the second half. It slowed down a bit and while it was still enjoyable, it wasn’t holding my interest as much as it did in the beginning.  I kept reading though because I found the characters likeable but by the end it just seemed really predictable and expected. I wasn’t shocked liked I was in the beginning. I just found out that there is going to be a sequel so this is not the last we see of Violet Ambrose either.  She will be back in 2011 in Desires of the Dead. I am sure I will stay up past my bed time once again with that book too.

