I have been a fan of Ellen Hopkins for a long time.  I devoured Crank, Burned, Glass, Impulse and now Identical.  Her writing style, free verse, sucks you in and her stories makes you want to read more and more.  It didn’t take me long to finish.  I find that a lot of reluctant readers enjoy reading her books because of her unique style.  Her books may look long but each page seems tells a whole chapter.  Honest, and raw, Hopkins definitely doesn’t sugar coat anything.

Identical, beautifully, seamlessly tells the story of the two twins who despite being identical in just about everyway are as different personality wise as night and day or at least so it seems…at first. At first I thought that these two girls, Kaeleigh and Raeanne were just really self destructive.  I hated reading about what the father was doing to one of the daughters. The cycle of abuse can be vicious.  I can‘t say much more on the plot of the book.  It is tempting spill the plot, reveal the spoilers…..but I am not.  You are just going to have to read the book for yourself.

The ending took me by surprise – seriously I had no idea and when it dawned on me I was like OMG!!! Totally unexpected. Once the climax is reached, the walls came tumbling down really fast. Secrets of the past have ways of affecting the future. Some secrets are not meant to be kept.  Crying out help takes all sorts of shapes and forms.  Its amazing how some of those picture perfect families aren’t really all they are cracked up to be.

There is no denying that this book is graphic – it is filled with drugs, sex, incest and booze. I hate censoring books, but I definitely do not think this is for the younger teen crowd. Still, Ellen Hopkins has done it again. May be the best book of hers to date

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

